Senate FTC Nominations


The Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation convened a hearing for the president’s nominees to serve as Federal Trade Commissioners. The extensive regulatory reach of the FTC and its impact on advertising and technology continues to be of paramount importance to our industry. The FTC’s mission to oversee competition and consumer protection across wide-ranging aspects of the American economy has grown over the years and that’s why AHLA continues to strengthen its engagement with the agency on issues related to distribution. The Committee expects to vote on the nominees in the next few weeks.

Earlier this year, the Trump Administration nominated Joseph Simmons, Noah Phillips, Christine Wilson and Rohit Chopra to fill the year-long vacancies within the Federal Trade Commission. AHLA worked with Senate Commerce Committee senators and their staff to update them on AHLA priorities which were relayed to the four nominees during their pre-hearing meetings.

  • Joseph Simons was nominated to serve as commissioner and FTC Chairman. He served as the FTC’s chief antitrust enforcer, among numerous other positions within the Commission. Most recently, he served as partner and co-chair of the Antitrust Group at the law firm of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton, and Garrison.
  • Christine Wilson is an antitrust and consumer protection attorney, who most recently served as Vice President for Regulatory and International Affairs at Delta Airlines. She previously worked at the Commission before serving as Chief of Staff to FTC Chairman Tim Muris during the George W. Bush Administration.
  • Noah Joshua Phillips served as Chief Counsel to Senator John Cornyn, where he advised on issues including antitrust, consumer privacy, and intellectual property.
  • Rohit Chopra most recently served as a Senior Fellow at the Consumer Federation of America, and previously served in senior roles at both the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and the U.S. Department of Education.